Our Events

Maggie's Cancer Caring Centre and In Express Group Charity Golf Day 2018

“Maggie's Cancer Caring Centre and In Express Group” Charity Golf Day 2018 raises over HK$1.1 million

The “Maggie’s Cancer Caring Centre and In Express Group Charity Golf Day 2018 was held on Friday, 2 February 2018 at The Clearwater Bay Golf & Country Club, which successfully raised over HK$1.1 million for Maggie’s Centre to provide free cancer care services to those affected by cancer. The day has attracted 27 teams of 108 golfers to compete for a great cause.

Ceremonial tee-off was officiated by Guest of Honour Professor John Leong Chi-yan, SBS, JP, Chairman of the Hospital Authority; Mrs. Alice Lau, Representative of In Express Group; Mr. Mark Chan, Golf Captain of The Clearwater Bay Golf & Country Club; Dr. Ronald Lu, Chairman of the event Organising Committee; and Ms. Kathryn Greenberg, Chairman of the Board of Governors, Maggie’s Cancer Caring Centre.

The windy and chilly weather did not sweep away our golfers ‘excitement in supporting a good cause, they enjoyed the delights of a round of game on an excellent golf course, followed by a buffet and prize-giving ceremony in the evening, where the fine wine auction and lucky draw took place and raised more funds for Maggie's.

Maggie’s Centre is most grateful to the event Organising Committee and all sponsors and donors, as well as to The Clearwater Bay Golf & Country Club for providing the venue and golf course, supporting the event operation and tournament management.

Cancer diagnosis often brings with it tough questions, exhausting treatment, financial stress and difficult emotions. With philanthropic support such as funds raised at this Charity Golf Day, Maggie’s Centre is able to keep its door open and make available free access to practical, emotional and psychosocial support for people touched by cancer.

Guest of Honour:
Professor John Leong Chi-yan, SBS, JP, Chairman, Hospital Authority

Organising Committee:
Dr. Ronald Lu (Chairman)
Mr. Peter Brannan
Mr. Mark Chan
Ms. Susan Ho
Mr. David Hui
Mr. Adrian Lee
Mrs. Eleanor Ling, SBS, OBE, JP
Ms. Audry Ai Morrow
Mr. Stanley Sun

List of Winners

Registration is now closed. Please stay tuned for our next year's event.

(From Left) Mr. Mark Chan, Professor John Leong Chi-yan, Mrs. Alice Lau, Dr. Ronald Lu and Ms. Kathryn Greenberg before the ceremonial tee-off.

(From Left) Mr. Mark Chan, Mr. Adrian Lee, Ms. Kathryn Greenberg, Mr. Stanley Sun, Mrs. Eleanor Ling, Ms. Audry Ai Morrow and Mr. Peter Brannan at the cheque presentation ceremony.

A group photo of all golfers.

Dr. Ronald Lu and the Champion Team.